Written by Mei Ling
Published 16 October 2026 | Last updated -
Who we are: Home Care Apps Team
Quick answer: MediAsas complements a medical card; it does not replace one. This page answers 12 questions clients may put to an agent, using Bank Negara Malaysia's pilot FAQ (Version 1, 29 July 2026) and its item numbers, and it marks where the FAQ is silent. Facts checked October 2026.
Key points
- Answers follow BNM's pilot FAQ, Version 1, dated 29 July 2026.
- Each answer cites its FAQ item number, such as B2 or C11A.
- Where the FAQ is silent, confirm with the insurer in writing.
- Pilot terms may change before the January 2027 launch.
What is MediAsas, and who can buy it now?
In the pilot, applicants must be Malaysian citizens aged 16 to 70 with a MyKad.
1. What is MediAsas, and who is it for?
MediAsas is a standalone medical plan, not linked to any investment. It renews yearly until age 85 and covers pre-hospitalisation, hospitalisation, post-hospitalisation and eligible outpatient treatment (FAQ A1). BNM targets people with no medical cover who can afford basic private cover, and people whose existing plan has become more expensive with age (A3). It is voluntary and sold by private insurers and takaful operators (BNM MHIT page).
2. Who can buy it now?
MediAsas is designed for ages 0 to 70, but pilot applications are open only to ages 16 to 70, and only to Malaysian citizens with a valid MyKad (FAQ C1 and C8). Age means age last birthday. Permanent residents and foreigners living in Malaysia are planned for the national launch (C8). BNM adds that the pilot involves selected participants, so confirm with the insurer that your client can apply now (BNM MHIT page).
Can clients keep, switch or change plans?
A client can keep an existing card, but cannot switch operator or plan during the pilot.
3. Can a client keep a company medical card?
Yes. BNM says MediAsas is designed to complement, not replace, an employer benefit or existing medical card, and it suggests Fleksi, which has a higher deductible, for these clients (FAQ A7). In BNM's sample, an employer scheme pays the RM10,000 Fleksi deductible on a RM50,000 bill and the insurer pays the other RM40,000 (Appendix II). It is only a sample, so check how the client's own card pays. See using both.
4. Can a client switch insurer or plan?
Not in the pilot. Switching between insurers or takaful operators is not allowed (FAQ A8), moving from an existing plan to MediAsas with the same insurer is not available (A9), and switching between Teras and Fleksi is not available (A15). Details come at the national launch. A client may hold only one MediAsas across all insurers (A13). Sources differ: an undated BNM page says same-insurer switching needs no re-underwriting, but A9 says underwriting rules apply. Promise neither.
Teras or Fleksi, and what will a client pay?
Teras has a small deductible per disability, and Fleksi has a large yearly deductible.
5. What is the difference between Teras and Fleksi?
Teras is the standard plan and Fleksi is the enhanced plan (FAQ B1). Teras has an annual limit of RM100,000 (age 0 to 59) or RM150,000 (60 and above), with a deductible of RM500 or RM1,000 per disability at Preferred In-Network hospitals. Fleksi has a RM300,000 limit and a RM10,000 deductible per policy year, or RM15,000 out of network with no co-insurance (B2, B5). Neither has a lifetime limit (B8).
6. How much will a client pay at the hospital?
In BNM's example of a RM6,000 bill under Teras, the client pays RM500 at a Preferred In-Network hospital and RM1,700 out of network: a RM500 deductible plus RM1,200 co-insurance (FAQ B3). Teras co-insurance is 20%, capped at RM3,000 per disability (B2). Teras co-payment is waived at government facilities, in emergencies and for outpatient cancer treatment; Fleksi has no waiver (B4). Items the policy does not cover are extra (C11).
What is not covered?
Pre-existing conditions follow the policy terms; pregnancy and childbirth care are excluded.
7. Are pre-existing conditions covered, and is there a waiting period?
MediAsas is fully underwritten: clients answer a health questionnaire, and claims linked to pre-existing conditions follow the policy terms, including exclusions and underwriting terms set at issue (FAQ C3 and C4). Conditions arising in the first 30 days are not covered, except accidents, and Specified Illnesses have a 120-day wait (C10). After seven continuous years a claim cannot be contested for non-disclosure, unless it was fraudulent, deliberate or reckless, or the claim relates to a Pre-Defined Medical Condition (C5, C7). Stress full, honest disclosure (C6).
8. Does MediAsas cover confinement, childbirth or postnatal care?
No. Exclusion 19 removes pregnancy, childbirth (including caesarean section), antenatal, prenatal and postnatal care, their complications, and contraception and infertility treatment (FAQ B16 item 19). It also removes any medical or surgical treatment relating to them, so postnatal nursing is outside the plan. The schedule of benefits has no confinement benefit (Appendix I). A client who wants maternity cover should ask about an employer benefit or a separate policy.
How do clients claim?
A client claims cashless at a preferred hospital; elsewhere, the client pays first.
9. How does a client claim, and what if the claim is rejected?
At a Preferred In-Network hospital the client shows the MediAsas e-medical card, gets an initial and then a final Guarantee Letter, and pays only uncovered amounts (FAQ C11A). Out of network, the client pays first and claims with itemised bills and medical reports (C11B). The letter needs pre-authorisation through the hospital; without one, the client can pay and claim (C14 to C16). A rejected claim can be appealed, possibly via the Financial Markets Ombudsman Service (FMOS) or BNMLINK (C22).
What about home nursing after discharge?
MediAsas has a home nursing benefit with set limits, and several points are open.
10. Does MediAsas cover home nursing after hospital discharge?
MediAsas has a Post-Hospitalisation Home Nursing Care benefit: as charged, up to RM3,000 a year and a maximum of 90 days per lifetime, within the annual limit and subject to co-payment (FAQ Appendix I item 13). Private nursing outside it is excluded (B16, item 15). The FAQ leaves open how the days count and whether cashless applies (see below). Home Care Apps, a home nursing provider, shows "from" prices on its home page; the insurer decides each claim.
What about premiums, EPF and cancelling?
Premiums are not fixed, and a client has 15 days to cancel with a refund.
11. Is the premium fixed, and can clients use EPF?
No. Premiums are not guaranteed, change with attained age and can be revised with at least 30 days' written notice (FAQ D1, D2 and D8). Indicative premiums are about RM60 to RM550 a month for entry up to age 70, with final pricing at the January 2027 launch (BNM MHIT page). Budget 2027 said EPF contributors under 55 can use Akaun Sejahtera to pay premiums (Malay Mail, 9 October 2026).
12. Can a client cancel after buying?
Yes. Within the 15-day free-look period, a full refund of premiums or contributions, less any medical expenses, may be payable (FAQ A16). After that, nothing is refunded and cover stops immediately. Cancelling does not automatically affect future eligibility, but the client must reapply and be underwritten again (A17). After missed payments there is a 30-day grace period, and a lapsed policy can be reinstated within 90 days without re-underwriting, but overdue premiums are payable and waiting periods apply (D6, D7).
Where is the FAQ silent?
The BNM FAQ does not answer these points, so confirm each with the insurer in writing:
| Client asks | What the FAQ says | What to do |
|---|---|---|
| How are the 90 home nursing days counted? | Only the limits: 90 days per lifetime, RM3,000 a year (Appendix I, item 13) | Ask the insurer |
| Is a doctor's letter or a nurse qualification needed? | Not stated | Check the policy wording and ask |
| Does cashless work for home nursing? | Guarantee Letters are described for preferred hospitals (C14) | Ask how a home nursing provider is treated |
| Is there a claim deadline? | None stated; processing time varies (C18) | Ask, and submit early |
| Does home nursing after day surgery count? | Not stated; the benefit is called post-hospitalisation (Appendix I) | Ask before the client books |
What to do next
- Keep BNM's FAQ (Version 1, 29 July 2026) at hand and quote item numbers.
- Write down the open points above and ask the insurer in writing.
- Remind clients to read the Product Disclosure Sheet and policy wording.
- Re-check this page after January 2027, when final features and pricing are published.
- Clients asking about nurse visits at home can try our free care assessment.
FAQ
What are the questions clients ask most about MediAsas?
We chose these 12 from the topics in BNM's pilot FAQ, not from agent enquiries, so we cannot rank them. Expect questions on eligibility, cost, existing cover, claims and exclusions.
Where can agents find BNM's official MediAsas FAQ?
On BNM's MHIT page, which links the pilot FAQ for customers: Version 1, dated 29 July 2026, 22 pages. Read the whole document, because several answers sit in the appendices.
Is the pilot FAQ the final MediAsas rulebook?
No. BNM says benefits, terms and conditions may be revised to match the final MediAsas planned for January 2027. Pilot policies can be amended, replaced or migrated on written notice (FAQ A14).
What should an agent say when the FAQ does not answer?
Say so, then confirm with the insurer in writing. The FAQ itself tells customers to contact their agent, insurer or takaful operator, or the hospital's admission counter, for help (C11).
How we can help
Home Care Apps arranges registered nurse home visits across Peninsular Malaysia, subject to nurse availability in your area. A client who asks about nursing care at home after a hospital stay can send an enquiry or try the free care assessment. We take no referral fees and pay none.
Sources
- Bank Negara Malaysia, MediAsas Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs), Version 1: Pilot Programme, 29 July 2026. PDF. Items A1, A3, A7 to A9, A13 to A17, B1 to B5, B8, B16 (items 15 and 19), C1, C3 to C8, C10, C11, C11A, C11B, C14 to C16, C18, C22, D1, D2, D6 to D8, Appendix I and Appendix II.
- Bank Negara Malaysia, MediAsas (Medical and Health Insurance/Takaful) page. bnm.gov.my/mhit, page read 16 October 2026 (undated).
- Bank Negara Malaysia, Base MHIT Plan page. bnm.gov.my/mhit/baseplan, page read 16 October 2026 (undated).
- Malay Mail, "Anwar: Voluntary medical insurance MediAsas to kick off in 2027, EPF Akaun Sejahtera can pay premiums", 9 October 2026. Link.
Note
This is general information, not medical, financial or legal advice, and Home Care Apps is a home nursing provider, not an insurer, takaful operator or insurance agent.